Disclaimer / Avis de non-responsabilité

Open Mic and Poetry Slam

Posted by lamacs On February - 11 - 2013

Black history is Canadian history

February 27th 2013
6:00-10:00pm Agora, Jock Turcot University Centre
Sign up at 6:00pm Coffee and tea provided

Special guest: Sonjah Stanley-Niaah

AMLAC&S with the help of Community Life Services brings you an event to remember- On Wednesday, February 27th AMLAC&S (and associations) will be hosting a FREE open mic/poetry slam in spirit of celebrating cultural awareness and Black History Month. For this event we are introducing a very special guest, Sonjah Stanley-Niaah, author of “DanceHall: From Slave Ships to Ghetto” (2010) who is travelling from Kingston, Jamaica to give us an inspirational talk on her great experiences and journeys. Students and the general public are welcome to come share their opinions, songs and poetry on our rich cultural and Canadian history. The event will be hosted in the Agora (UCU Centre-Jock Turcot), the sign-up sheet for those who would like to participate will be posted at 6:00pm and the show will begin at 7:00 pm. Coffee, tea and snacks will be provided for those who attend the event.

Upcoming Projects

Posted by lamacs On February - 16 - 2011

Comparative Multiculturalism from Transnational & Global Perspectives

Reframing multiculturalism for the 21st century’s realities: An International Symposium
In partnership with Deakin University’s Centre for Citizenship and Globalization (Melbourne, Australia) and AMLAC&S, the symposium will focus on the “challenges” for and “reframing” of multiculturalisms in this century’s global knowledge-economy.

Forthcoming book
Multiculturalism in Indy Cinemas uses the rhizomic research tool to articulate identity as it is represented in independent cinema.

HIV/AIDS Cultural Related Behavioural Change Messages Study

This project will study cellular communication technologies to produce effective-contextualized HIV/AIDS messages in multicultural societies. This pilot project combines cellular communication technologies and virtual sexual and cultural profile in Madagascar to study, produce, implement, and test the most effective means of creating effective and contextualized HIV/AIDS Cultural Related Behavioural Change Messages (HIV/ AIDS-CRBCM) in the context of Africa’s multicultural, multidimensional, and intergenerational reality.

Articulations of memory in cinema

Conference/Workshop
This conference/workshop will focus on an interdisciplinary approach. It is dedicated to the questions of memory in African, diasporic, national, and black cinemas. Representations of memory are linked with the questions of the representations and structures of identity, because they not only shed light on the past but also reflect on actual constructions of the past.

China in Africa today

Archaeology of the articulations and the communicational strategies
This project, conducted by a team of Canadian and African researchers, aims to study the strategies and the communicational articulations used by the Chinese to establish themselves in the everyday life of the African people today. The objective is to understand how people occupy the cultural spaces (political, economical, social, mental, human and geographical) in order to win the affection of African people, but also to understand what the Africans think about it and which part they play in the production of knowledge. This project will produce a new gaze on Chinese-African relationships, their successes, their failures and their understandings.

Sponsors

Disclaimer / Avis de non-responsabilité

Poésie-slam, micro ouvert

Posted by lamacs On février - 11 - 2013

L‘histoire des noirs est “l‘histoire” Canadienne

18h00-22h00
Agora, Centre universitaire Jock Turcot
Inscription à partir de 18h00 Café et thé fournis

Invitée spéciale: Sonjah Stanley-Niaah

LAMAC&S avec l’aide du service de vie communautaire vous proposent un évènement dont il faudra se souvenir – Mercredi 27 Fevrier, LAMAC&S (et partenaires) seront les hôtes d’un micro ouvert gratuit où la poésie et le Slam viendront célébrer la conscience culturelle et le mois de l’Histoire des Noirs. Pour cet événement, nous accueillerons une invitée spéciale, Sonjah Stanley- Niaah, auteure de “DanceHall: From Slave Ships to Ghetto” (2010) qui nous rejoindra depuis Kingston, Jamaique pour nous donner un inspirant discours sur ses experiences et voyages. Les etudiants et le grand public seront les bienvenus pour partager leurs opinions, chansons et poésies sur notre riche histoire culturelle Canadienne. L’événement se tiendra dans l’Agora (Centre UCU – Jock Turcot). Les inscriptions pour ceux qui voudront participer débuteront à 18h et le spectacle aux environs de 19h. Café, thé et amuse-bouches seront fournis pour ceux présents !

Projets futurs

Posted by lamacs On février - 16 - 2011

Comparaisons du Multiculturalisme à partir de Perspectives Transnationales et Globales

Symposium international: Repositionner le multiculturalisme dans les réalités du 21ème siècle
En partenariat avec le Centre pour la Citoyenneté et la Globalisation de l’université de Deakin (Melbourne, Autralie) et le LAMAC&S, le symposium se focalisera sur les “échanges” en vue d’un “repositionnement” du multiculturalisme dans ce siècle d’une économie de connaissance globalisée.

Projet d’édition
Le multiculturalisme dans les cinémas indépendants utilise la recherche sur les pratiques rhizomiques comme un outil pour articuler l’identité et ses représentations dans les cinémas indépendants.

Études des messages de prévention au HIV/SIDA pour inciter à une modifica- tion des habitudes comportementales.

Ce projet s’intéresse aux nouvelles technologies de communication, notamment le téléphone portable, dans la production de messages de prévention au HIV/SIDA contextualisés dans des sociétés multiculturelles. Ce projet pilote combine les technologies des téléphones cellulaires et l’étude des imaginaires sociaux entourant la sexualité à Madagascar. Il s’agit d’étudier, de produire et de tester des messages de prévention au HIV/SIDA qui soient réellement efficaces et qui permettent de modifier les comportements face au VIH/SIDA dans le contexte d’une Afrique multiculturelle, multidimensionnelle et intergénérationnelle.

Les articulations mémorielles au cinéma

Conférence/atelier:
L’approche envisagée durant cette conférence/ atelier est interdisciplinaire. Cette conférence/ atelier sera consacrée aux questions de la mémoire dans les cinémas africains, diasporiques, nationaux, et noirs. Les représentations de la mémoire sont en effet indissociables des questions de la représentation des identités et des articulations identitaires, parce qu’elles ne parlent pas seulement du passé mais renvoient surtout à des constructions présentes du passé.

La Chine en Afrique aujourd’hui:

Archéologie des articulations et des stratégies communicationnelles
Ce projet, mené par une équipe de chercheurs canadiens et africains, a pour objectif l’étude des stratégies et des articulations communication- nelles mises en oeuvre par les Chinois pour s’implanter dans la vie de tous les jours en Afrique aujourd’hui. Il s’agit de comprendre comment les uns et les autres occupent des espaces de culture (c’est-à-dire l’espace politique, économique, social, mental, humain
et géographique) pour « gagner le coeur » des Africains, mais surtout ce qu’en pensent les Africains, et quelle part jouent-ils dans ce champ de production de la connaissance. Ce projet produira un nouveau regard sur les rapports sino- africains, leurs succès, échecs et appréhension..