The one-year bilingual master degree in World Literatures and Cultures has had many successful graduates. Find out what our graduates said about their experience and where it has taken them.

Watch our alumni talk about the program

“The Master in World Literatures and Cultures really helped me with my research and synthesis skills. As a result, I was able to complete a research project over several months with the help of my professors and classmates. Because of the diversity of specialization of the program’s professors, each student could realistically write their major research paper on a subject that they were passionate about. For me, comic books weren’t viewed favourably by the French literature department, even despised. The bilingual aspect of the program also helped me improve my translation skills. In short, having worked as a translator, a professor of French as a second language, a professor of translation, and a professor of literature (my current position), I can confirm without a shadow of a doubt that the Master in World Literatures and Cultures helped me a lot from a professional standpoint. If I had to do it again, I wouldn’t change a thing.” – Nicolas Bilodeau (translated from French)

 

“The World Literatures and Cultures (WLC) program was a wonderful experience. I made great friends and connected with others from different cultures, while together we engaged in the course material and developed our intercultural competence skills together. The one thing I appreciated the most in the program was the small class sizes and the emphasis on discussions in our courses. Every class, I looked forward to hearing the opinions and interpretations of my classmates, as well as those of the professors. Unlike my undergraduate experience, I felt like the WLC program provided the encouragement to challenge our assumptions and share our thoughts in an open and encouraging environment. Secondly, I also appreciated the freedom given to us to pursue our own research and academic interests in the program. For instance, I combined literary research with interviews I conducted, which was all overseen by my supervisor in a social sciences department. I highly valued the flexibility the program provided. Finally, I can say with confidence that the skills and knowledge I developed in the WLC program helped me to land a wonderful job working in the settlement and immigrant services sector in Ottawa.” – Zac Tabler

 

“I was fortunate to attend a multidisciplinary program like the Master of Arts in World Literatures and Cultures at the University of Ottawa over the course of a year. All the courses were different but shared many common themes such as literatures, cultures, migration and immigration, linguistics and languages. The subject material was always relevant to what was happening in the world and the class discussions were a great way to share different perspectives and theories. The program length (one year only) was perfect because I was able to learn so much in a short amount of time and quickly insert myself into the workforce. The cohort was great as well, we were all friends and enjoyed coming to class each week to discuss new themes together. I appreciated the fact that there were two classes that focused on research and writing at the masters level which helped towards producing my major research project (MRP). The skills that I learned in this program have carried through into my second masters degree and into my career as well. I am thankful to have had this enjoyable academic experience that has taught me so much. The class sizes were small and intimate and the professors were passionate about their subject material. In conclusion, I would recommend this program to those who wish to pursue further education in humanities across a wide range of disciplines.” – Katarina G.

 

“My experience while pursuing the one-year MA in World Literatures and Cultures was truly an unforgettable one. I had the pleasure of working with professors that are experts in their field who were bilingual, supportive, and gave me and my cohort many opportunities to explore an array of subjects – some of which we had never even considered.
Not only that, my cohort was comprised of highly engaged, brilliant students with strong foundations in many fields our diverse ideas and perspectives in the classroom created an atmosphere for constructive, intellectually challenging, and memorable discussions about history and today’s world.
As someone that previously came from Social Sciences, I felt that I had a lot to learn, but ultimately, I graduated from the program feeling confident about my ability to engage with film, art, literature and other forms on media.
For anyone thinking about pursuing this program, I would say don’t deprive yourself of the opportunity to get an unmatched education at the Master’s level. With the tools and theories I’ve been equipped with, activities such as watching foreign films and travel have new meaning. This fall, I’m starting my PhD in Social and Political Thought at York University; and I can say that this MA made this academic pursuit possible and renewed my passion for humanities and social sciences.” – Marcelle-Anne Fletcher

 

 

 

“I am currently pursuing my doctorate in the PhD in Humanities Program at York University. I am hoping to explore digital diasporas and digital activism (within the scope of Digital Humanities) during the course of my dissertation. I am a student as well a teaching assistant (TA for Foundations Course “Science and Humanities”). The Masters program in World Literatures and Cultures has helped me immensely by providing me with the academic exposure I needed to get into the current program. Being a truly interdisciplinary master program of one year only, it opened up an assortment of fields to choose from. Finally, the program has truly exceptional professors and staff members who strive to support your needs throughout the whole program and after.” – Nanditha Narayanamoorthy

 

 

 

 

“I am one of the Italian students who took part in a joint agreement between the University of Ottawa and the University of Udine in Italy.
I’m currently teaching English at Honda Italia (although the employment situation in Italy is not ideal, I was able to get a job right after getting back from my year of study in Canada in the World Literatures and Cultures (LCM) master program). The LCM degree enriched my curriculum and broadened my views and observations about various topics we covered in the courses. Accomplishing the LCM degree was mandatory to complete my studies in Italy. It was a challenging year and adapting to a totally new culture and different study system in Canada was somewhat difficult, but I’m very proud I’ve made it! Now I know the door is open for me to numerous future opportunities in Canada, even though, at the moment, I would like to spend some time in Italy or in Europe (but you can never tell what the future holds for you!).” – Eliana Fortunato

 

“This program was ideal for me because it united areas of study that interested me. It also allowed me to take classes part-time, in the evening after work. Starting in September 2012, I finished in August 2016 with the submission of my Major Research Project. I encourage all who are in the job market and who wish to do a part-time Master’s degree to consider the LCM program. In a few words, it’s internationalization at home! This program allows you to expand your horizons thanks to the international and intercultural element. A big, very big, thank you to the professors who taught me and who shared their knowledge and their passion unreservedly: May Telmissany and Douglas Clayton (Fall 2012); Agatha Schwartz (Winter 2013); Rebecca Margolis (Fall 2014); Richard Sokoloski (Winter 2015) and Joerg Esleben (Winter 2016). Special thanks to Professor Margolis, my MRP supervisor, and Professor Schwartz, the second reader.” – Line Bissonnette (translated from French)

 

“I currently work as a data analyst for a global company that was looking for someone polyvalent and able to quickly learn multiple new concepts. The intensive quality of the World Literatures and Cultures program is what put me at the front of the pack. The fact that the program touches upon so many disciplines was also an advantage because it demonstrated that I have diverse interests and that I am capable of juggling many different concepts (in my job I have to be able to analyse problems from every department, from print production to sales, from client service to logistics, all while taking into account human, technical, and financial factors).” – Agostino Delannoy (translated from French)

 

 

 

 

“The Master’s in World Literatures and Cultures let me discover one of my passions – cultural identity (especially in bilingual situations). This allowed me to learn about myself and about how bilingualism can have an effect on a person’s identity. Today, I’m living in Spain and I’m teaching English as a Second Language to young Spaniards, all while learning a new language myself. I am always immersed in bilingualism, even trilingualism!” – Julie Mongeon (translated from French)

 

 

 

 

 

Convocation Ceremonies

Profils vedette

La maîtrise bilingue d’un an en littératures et cultures du monde a eu plusieurs diplômés réussis. Découvrez ce qu’ils et elles ont dit de leur expérience et où cela les a conduits.

Écoutez nos diplômés parler sur le programme

« La maîtrise en littératures et cultures du monde m’a beaucoup aidé au niveau de mes compétences de recherche et de synthèse. J’ai donc su mener à terme un projet de recherche et de rédaction échelonné sur plusieurs mois avec l’aide de mes professeurs et mes camarades de classe. En raison de la diversité des domaines de spécialisation des professeurs du programme, chaque étudiant pouvait réellement aborder son mémoire sur un sujet qui le passionne. Pour ma part, la bande dessinée n’était pas vue d’un très bon œil au sein du département de lettres françaises, voire même méprisée. L’aspect bilingue du programme m’a aussi aidé à améliorer mes compétences en traduction. Bref, ayant exercé des emplois de traducteur, professeur de français langue seconde, professeur en traduction et professeur en littérature (poste actuel), je peux affirmer, et ce, sans l’ombre d’un doute, que la maîtrise en littératures et cultures du monde m’a grandement aidé d’un point de vue professionnel. Si c’était à refaire, je ne changerais absolument rien. » -Nicolas Bilodeau

 

« Le programme de littératures et cultures du monde (LCM) était une expérience merveilleuse. J’ai créé des amis fantastiques et j’ai fait des connections avec des gens de cultures différentes pendant d’engager avec le matériel de cours et de développer notre compétence interculturelle ensemble. La chose que j’ai le plus apprécié du programme était la taille des cours petits et l’emphase sur les discussions en cours. Chaque session de cours, j’avais hâte d’entendre les opinions et interprétations de mes collègues ainsi que celles de mes professeurs. Contrairement à mon expérience en premier cycle, je trouvais que le programme de LCM a fourni l’encouragement de défier nos assomptions et de partager nos penser dans un environnement ouvert et encourageant. Deuxièmement, j’ai apprécié la liberté de poursuivre notre propre recherche et intérêts académiques. Par exemple, j’ai combiné la recherche littéraire avec des entretiens que j’ai conduits, tout supervisé par mon directeur dans un des départements de sciences sociales. J’ai beaucoup apprécié la flexibilité que le programme a fournit. Finalement, je peux dire avec confiance que les compétences et la connaissance que j’ai développée dans le programme LCM m’a aidé à obtenir une emploie formidable dans le secteur d’établissement et d’immigration à Ottawa. » – Zac Tabler (traduit d’anglais)

 

« J’étais chanceuse de suivre pendant un an un programme multidisciplinaire tel que la maîtrise en littératures et cultures du monde à l’Université d’Ottawa. Tous les cours étaient différents mais partageaient plusieurs thèmes communs tels que les littératures, les cultures, la migration et l’immigration, les linguistiques et les langues. La matière était toujours pertinente à ce qui se passait dans le monde actuel et les discussions en classe étaient un excellent moyen de partager de différentes perspectives et théories. La durée du programme (seulement un an) était parfaite parce que j’ai pu apprendre énormément en peu de temps rapidement intégrer dans le monde de travail. La cohorte était également excellente, nous étions tous des amis et aimions venir en classe chaque semaine pour discuter de nouveaux thèmes ensemble. J’ai apprécié le fait qu’il y avait deux cours axés sur la recherche et l’écriture au niveau de la maîtrise, ce qui m’a aidé à produire ma mémoire. Les compétences que j’ai apprises dans ce programme se sont concrétisées dans mon deuxième diplôme de maîtrise et dans ma carrière. Je suis reconnaissante d’avoir eu cette excellente expérience académique qui m’a tant appris. La taille des classes était petite et intime et les professeurs étaient passionnés par leurs sujets. En conclusion, je recommanderais ce programme à ceux et celles qui souhaitent poursuivre la formation continuée dans les sciences humaines à travers plusieurs disciplines. » – Katarina G. (traduit d’anglais)

 

“Mon expérience lors de ma maîtrise d’un an en littératures et cultures du monde était vraiment inoubliable. J’ai eu le plaisir de travailler avec des professeurs qui sont des experts dans leurs domaines qui étaient bilingue, favorables et qui m’ont donné, ainsi qu’à ma cohorte, de nombreuses occasions d’explorer des différents sujets – quelques-uns qu’on n’a jamais même considérés.

De plus, ma cohorte était composée d’étudiants et d’étudiantes très engagés et brillants avec de fondations dans plusieurs domaines et nos idées et points de vue diverse en classe ont créé une atmosphère pour les discussions constructives, stimulantes et mémorables sur l’histoire et le monde d’aujourd’hui.

En tant que personne qui venait des sciences sociales, j’avais l’impression que j’avais beaucoup à apprendre, mais finalement j’ai obtenu mon diplôme du programme, me sentant confiante quant à ma capacité d’engager avec le cinéma, l’art, la littérature et d’autres formes dans les médias.

Pour tous ceux et celles qui pensent de poursuivre ce programme, je vous dirais de ne vous privez pas de l’occasion d’obtenir une formation incomparable au niveau de la maîtrise. Avec les outils et les théories dont je suis équipé, les activités telles que regarder des films étrangers et voyager ont une nouvelle signification. Cet automne, je commence mon doctorat en pensée sociale et politique à l’Université York; et je peux dire que cette maîtrise a rendu cette poursuite académique possible et a renouvelé ma passion pour les sciences humaines et sociales. » – Marcelle-Anne Fletcher (traduit d’anglais)

 

 

« Je suis en train de poursuivre mon doctorat en sciences humaines à l’Université York. Je souhaite d’explorer les diasporas digitaux et l’activisme digitale (dans le cadre des humanités digitaux) au cours de ma thèse. Je suis également étudiante et assistante pédagogique (TA pour le cours de base « Science and Humanities »). La maîtrise en littératures et cultures du monde m’a énormément aidé en me fournissant l’exposition académique que j’avais besoin pour être accepté dans mon programme actuel. Être un programme de maîtrise véritablement interdisciplinaire de seulement un an, il a ouvert un évantail de domaines à choisir. Finalement, le programme a des professeurs des membres du personnel vraiment exceptionnels qui s’efforcent à soutenir vos besoins tout au long du programme et après. » – Nanditha Narayanamoorthy (traduit d’anglais)

 

 

 

« Je suis un des étudiants italiens qui ont participé dans un accord entre l’Université d’Ottawa et l’Université d’Udine en Italie.

Je suis au moment une professeure d’anglais à Honda Italia (même si la situation d’emploi en Italie ne soit pas idéale, j’ai pu trouver un emploi juste après mon année d’études au Canada dans le programme de maîtrise en littératures et cultures du monde (LCM)). Le diplôme LCM a enrichi mon cursus et élargi mes points de vue et observations sur les différents sujets abordés dans les cours. L’obtention du diplôme LCM était obligatoire pour accomplir mes études en Italie. Ce fut une année difficile et adapté à une culture complètement nouvelle et au système d’études différent du Canada était un peu difficile, mais je suis très fière d’y être parvenue ! Maintenant je sais que la porte est ouverte pour de nombreuses possibilités au Canada au future, même si, pour le moment, j’aimerais passer du temps en Italie ou en Europe (mais vous ne savez jamais ce que l’avenir vous réserve !). » – Eliana Fortunato (traduit d’anglais)

 

« Ce programme était idéal pour moi puisqu’il réunissait des domaines d’étude qui me passionnait. Il m’a également permis de suivre des cours en soirée, après le travail, et à temps partiel. Commencé en septembre 2012, je l’ai terminé en août 2016 à la soumission de mon mémoire de maîtrise. J’encourage celles et ceux qui sont sur le marché du travail et qui songent à faire des études de maîtrise à temps partiel d’explorer le programme LCM. En quelques mots, c’est Internationalization at home! Ce programme vous permettra d’élargir vos horizons grâce entre autres aux volets international et interculturel qu’il comporte. Un grand, très grand merci aux membres du corps professoral qui m’ont enseigné et qui ont partagé sans réserve leurs connaissances et leur passion : May Telmissany et Douglas Clayton (automne 2012); Agatha Schwartz (hiver 2013); Rebecca Margolis (automne 2014); Richard Sokoloski (hiver 2015) et Joerg Esleben (hiver 2016). Un merci tout particulier à la professeure Margolis, ma directrice de mémoire, et à la professeure Schwarz, la seconde lectrice. » – Line Bissonnette

 

« Je travaille présentement comme data analyst pour une compagnie globale qui cherchait quelqu’un de polyvalent et capable d’apprendre rapidement beaucoup de choses. Le caractère intensif de la maîtrise en littératures et cultures du monde est ce que j’ai mis en avant. Le fait que le programme touche à tellement de domaines était également un atout puisque ça démontrait que j’avais des intérêts diversifiés et que je suis capable de jongler avec des concepts différents (dans mon job je dois être capable d’analyser les problématiques de tous les départements, de la productions en imprimerie aux ventes, du service à la clientèle à la logistique, et ce tout en prenant en comptes des facteurs tant humains que techniques ou financiers). » – Agostino Delannoy

 


 

 

« La maîtrise en littératures et cultures du monde m’a permis de découvrir une de mes passions – l’identité culturelle (surtout en situation de bilinguisme). Ceci m’a permis d’en apprendre davantage sur moi-même et aussi sur ce que le bilinguisme peut avoir comme effet sur l’identité d’une personne. Aujourd’hui, j’habite en Espagne et j’enseigne l’anglais langue seconde à de jeunes Espagnols tout en apprenant à mon tour une nouvelle langue. Je baigne toujours dans le bilinguisme, voire le trilinguisme ! » – Julie Mongeon

 

 

 

 

 

Cérémonies de convocation