Organizers

Emma AndersonHillary KaellPamela KlassenStaff

Emma Anderson Emma Anderson is the Director of the Institute of Canadian and Aboriginal Studies and a Professor in the Department of Classics and Religious Studies at the University of Ottawa. Anderson is the author of two books, both published by Harvard University Press. The Death and Afterlife of the North American Martyrs (2013) traces the cult of eight Jesuit missionaries from the seventeenth century to the present. The Betrayal of Faith: The Tragic Journey of a Colonial Native Convert (2007) explores the life of Pierre Anthoine Pastedechouan, a young Innu taken to France for baptism and a religious education before being reintegrated, with tragic results, into his natal culture. The work, which is also available in a French translation through Laval University Press, received the American Academy of Religion’s Best First Book in the History of Religions and the Alf Heggoy Prize, awarded by the French Colonial Historical Society.

[TOP]

Hillary Kaell Hillary Kaell is author of Walking Where Jesus Walked: American Christians and Holy Land Pilgrimage (New York University Press, 2014) and editor of the forthcoming volume Religion in Contemporary Quebec (McGill-Queens University Press). She writes about North American Christianity, with a focus on material culture. Her current project examines the development of a global Christian imaginary over the last two centuries through the lens of child sponsorship programs. Aspects of her work have been published in venues including Religion, Journal of Material Culture, Journal of the American Academy of Religion and Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute. She also writes for popular audiences in print and online, co-curates the online forum Anthrocybib, and co-hosts the New Books in Religion podcast. She is Associate Professor of Religion at Concordia University in Montreal.

[TOP]

Pamela Klassen Pamela Klassen is Professor in the Department for the Study of Religion at the University of Toronto, and Vice-Dean Undergraduate in the Faculty of Arts & Science. She teaches graduate and undergraduate students in such areas as the anthropology and history of Christianity and colonialism in North America, book history, and religion, law, and gender. From 2015–17 she is Distinguished Visiting Professor in the Anthropology of Modern Religion at University of Tübingen in Germany. She holds the Anneliese Maier Research Award from the Humboldt Foundation, in support of “Religion and Public Memory in Multicultural Societies,” a project in collaboration with Prof. Monique Scheer of Tübingen. Her books include Blessed Events: Religion and Home Birth in America and Spirits of Protestantism: Medicine, Healing, and Liberal Christianity, which won a 2012 American Academy of Religion Award of Excellence. Her latest book project is The Story of Radio Mind: A Missionary’s Journey on Indian Land.

[TOP]

Staff

[TOP]

Organisateurs

Emma AndersonHillary KaellPamela KlassenCollaboratrices

 

Emma Anderson

Emma Anderson est directrice de l’institut d’études canadiennes et autochtones ainsi que professeure au département d’études classiques et religieuses de l’Université d’Ottawa. Elle est l’auteure de deux ouvrages publiés tous deux aux éditions Harvard University Press. The Death and Afterlife of the North American Martyrs (2013) relate le culte voué à huit missionnaires jésuites du XVIIe siècle à nos jours, et The Betrayal of Faith: The Tragic Journey of a Colonial Native Convert (2007) explore la vie de Pierre Anthoine Pastedechouan, un jeune Innu emmené en France pour être baptisé et recevoir une éducation religieuse avant d’être renvoyé, pour son plus grand malheur, dans sa culture d’origine. Publié en français par les Presses de l’Université Laval sous le titre La trahison de la foi. Le parcours tragique d’un converti autochtone à l’époque coloniale, cet ouvrage a reçu le prix du meilleur premier livre en histoire des religions décerné par l’American Academy of Religion, ainsi que le prix Alf Heggoy de la Société d’histoire coloniale française.

[HAUT DE LA PAGE]

Hillary Kaell

Hillary Kaell est l’auteure de Walking Where Jesus Walked: American Christians and Holy Land Pilgrimage publié en 2014 aux éditions New York University Press, et la directrice de publication d’un ouvrage à paraître aux éditions McGill-Queens University Press sous le titre Religion in Contemporary Quebec. Ses écrits portent sur le christianisme en Amérique du Nord, notamment sur la culture matérielle. Elle étudie actuellement la création d’un imaginaire chrétien mondial au cours des deux derniers siècles sous l’angle des programmes de parrainage d’enfants. D’autres facettes de ses travaux ont fait l’objet d’articles parus dans des revues comme Religion, le Journal of Material Culture, le Journal of the American Academy of Religion et le Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute. Elle rédige également des articles grand public publiés dans des médias imprimés ou par Internet, participe au forum de discussion en ligne Anthrocybib et coanime l’émission New Books in Religion. Enfin, Hillary Kaell est professeure agrégée de sciences des religions à l’Université Concordia, à Montréal.

[HAUT DE LA PAGE]

Pamela Klassen

Pamela Klassen est professeure au département d’études des religions et vice-doyenne des études de 1er cycle à la Faculté des arts et des sciences de l’Université de Toronto. Elle enseigne au 1er cycle et aux cycles supérieurs dans des domaines comme l’anthropologie, l’histoire du christianisme et du colonialisme en Amérique du Nord, l’histoire littéraire, ainsi que la religion, le droit et le genre. De 2015 à 2017, elle est professeure distinguée invitée à l’Université de Tübingen, en Allemagne, où elle enseigne l’anthropologie des religions modernes. La fondation Humboldt lui a octroyé la bourse de recherche Anneliese-Maier pour l’aider à mener à bien, en collaboration avec Monique Scheer, professeure dans cette université, un projet sur la religion et la mémoire publique dans les sociétés multiculturelles. Parmi les ouvrages dont elle est l’auteure, citons Blessed Events: Religion and Home Birth in America et Spirits of Protestantism: Medicine, Healing, and Liberal Christianity, pour lequel l’American Academy of Religion lui a décerné le prix d’excellence en 2012. Son dernier projet de livre s’intitule The Story of Radio Mind: A Missionary’s Journey on Indian Land.

[HAUT DE LA PAGE]

Collaboratrices

  • Administratrice du site Web : Kaleigh McLelland
  • Conceptrice du logo : Céline Bonte

[HAUT DE LA PAGE]