Call for Papers

Download Call for Papers as a PDF.

Restorying Canada:

Reconsidering Religion and Public Memory
A Conference and Public Event

University of Ottawa
Institute of Canadian and Aboriginal Studies
18–20 May 2017

Submissions deadline: 3 March 2017

The 150th anniversary of Canadian Confederation, coming as it does in the aftermath of the landmark Truth and Reconciliation Commission, is an ideal moment to re-examine the stories told of Canada’s past. Restorying Canada will inspire bold challenges to historiographic conventions of how we remember, invite critique as well as celebration, and explore multiple media and genres for evoking and interrogating the past, privileging artistic creativity along with academic rigour.

Religion has played a crucial, if understudied role in Canadian history: serving as the engine of residential schools, forming the still-extant “two solitudes,” inspiring collective visions of state responsibility for health care, and shaping a multicultural identity. In keeping with the urgency of the TRC’s “Calls for Action,” the conference will also highlight contemporary explorations of the troubled relationships between indigenous and non-indigenous peoples, including the legacies of religious, cultural, and linguistic imposition and resistance. Restorying Canada asks a few fundamental questions: How does our understanding of our past impact our present? What aspects of our nation’s history have gone un-told, been forgotten, or been systematically repressed? How have the complex interrelationships among Canada’s religious communities changed? Perhaps more troublingly, how have they remained the same?

Conference keynote speakers include novelist Margaret Atwood, Poet Laureate of Canada George Elliott Clarke, and filmmaker Zarqa Nawaz. Each speaker’s ground-breaking work in their diverse fields of endeavor has encouraged creative and critical re-imagination of  Canada’s collective past and its ambiguous legacy; they have participated in “restorying” Canada.

We invite proposals for individual papers and full panels from scholars, graduate students, artists, writers, filmmakers, educators, journalists, public policy professionals, community activists and others. The Conference will bring together people from multiple fields of expertise who are working on projects broadly related to the theme of religion and public memory in Canada that consider the multiple nations that brought this country into being. We welcome proposals in areas such as the study of religion, history, anthropology, Indigenous studies, law, museum studies, political theory, literature, art, media studies, environmental studies, and archaeology. Since we consider Restorying Canada to include diverse modes of storytelling, we encourage proposals for both traditional and innovative forms of presentation.

Possible topics include (but are not limited to):

  • Creative and ritual practices of memorialization, reconciliation, and storytelling
  • Indigenous/settler relations, 1600 to the present
  • Religion as inspiration for utopian and dystopian visions
  • Museums, collectors, and material culture as agents of religion and public memory
  • “Secularism,” “multiculturalism,” and “religion” as contested categories
  • Environmental, geographic, and ecological aspects of religious engagement
  • Religion, immigration, and the “values” of Canadians
  • Acculturation, appropriation, and the politics of “majority” and “minority” religions
  • Religion and changing economic practices/ideals

Appel à communications

(PDF)

Resituer le Canada:

Repenser la religion et la mémoire collective
Colloque et événement public

Université d’Ottawa
Institut d’études canadiennes et autochtones
18 – 20 mai 2017

Date limite de soumission des propositions : 3 mars 2017

Survenant dans la foulée de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation, le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération est un moment idéal pour réexaminer les récits sur le passé du Canada. Le colloque Resituer le Canada inspirera d’audacieuses remises en question des conventions historiographiques en matière de mémoire, invitera tant à la critique qu’à la célébration, et explorera l’emploi de divers genres et médias pour évoquer et interroger le passé. L’événement privilégiera aussi bien la créativité artistique que la rigueur intellectuelle.

Dans l’histoire du Canada, la religion a joué un rôle crucial, qui reste toutefois peu étudié. En effet, elle a favorisé l’établissement de pensionnats, contribué à la naissance de ces deux solitudes qui coexistent encore de nos jours, inspiré une vision collective de la responsabilité de l’état en matière de soins de santé et façonné l’identité multiculturelle des gens d’ici. Tenant compte des appels à l’action pressants de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation, le colloque traitera des avancées accomplies récemment dans l’étude des relations troubles qu’entretiennent Autochtones et allochtones. Resituer le Canada se penchera notamment sur l’héritage qu’ont laissé décrets et actes de résistance portant sur la religion, la culture ou la langue. Par ailleurs, le colloque soulèvera des questions fondamentales : quelle influence exerce le présent sur la compréhension du passé?; quels épisodes de l’histoire canadienne ont été gardés sous silence, oubliés ou systématiquement oblitérés?; de quelle façon les interrelations complexes entre les communautés religieuses ont-elles évolué au Canada – ou, éventualité plus préoccupante, pourquoi se perpétuent-elles?

Au nombre des conférenciers d’honneur qui participeront au colloque figurent la romancière Margaret Atwood, le poète officiel du Parlement du Canada George Elliott Clarke ainsi que la cinéaste Zarqa Nawaz. Par leur travail avant-gardiste dans différents domaines, ces personnalités ont toutes encouragé une reformulation créative et critique de notre passé collectif et de son legs ambigu; elles ont contribué à resituer l’histoire du Canada.

Nous souhaitons recevoir des propositions de communications individuelles et de panels pléniers de la part d’érudits, d’étudiants des cycles supérieurs, d’artistes, d’écrivains, de cinéastes, d’enseignants, de journalistes, de spécialistes des politiques publiques, de militants communautaires et d’autres personnes. Le colloque réunira des intervenants de nombreuses sphères de compétence qui travaillent à des projets liés de près ou de loin aux thèmes de la religion et de la mémoire publique au Canada et qui tiennent compte des diverses nations qui ont contribué à la formation de notre pays. Nous nous intéresserons entre autres aux propositions issues des domaines suivants : étude des religions, histoire, anthropologie, études autochtones, droit, études muséales, théorie politique, littérature, arts, études des médias, études environnementales et archéologie. Par ailleurs, comme le colloque Resituer le Canada entend mettre de l’avant divers modes narratifs, l’emploi de formules de présentation tant classiques que novatrices est encouragé.

Exemples de sujets :

  • Pratiques innovantes ou rituelles de commémoration, de réconciliation et de narration
  • Relations entre colonisateurs et Autochtones, de 1600 à aujourd’hui
  • Visions utopiques et dystopiques inspirées par la religion
  • Musées, collectionneurs et culture matérielle : agents de la religion et de la mémoire publique
  • Sécularisme, multiculturalisme et religion en tant qu’objets de contestation
  • Aspects environnementaux, géographiques et écologiques de l’engagement religieux
  • Religion, immigration et « valeurs » canadiennes
  • Acculturation, appropriation et politiques liées aux religions des «minorités» et des« majorités »
  • Religion et mouvance des pratiques et des idéaux en matière d’économie