Disclaimer / Avis de non-responsabilité

Conference 2019

 

 

 

ACCOMODATION - conference code 186606

REGISTRATION

KEYNOTES

FREE THEATRE WORKSHOP

DANCE WORKSHOP (EXTRA PAYMENT)

PLAY-READING

PERFORMANCES AND INSTALLATIONS

PROGRAM – TBA

 

 

 


 

This interdisciplinary and bilingual conference brings together a diverse group of scholars, performance artists, and media developers to discuss the challenges and advantages of interpersonal, political, cultural and performative dialogues produced under the irreversible changes in communication technology. After witnessing Donald Trump’s life-changing political decisions continuously performed on social media and Saudi Arabia’s extreme diplomatic reaction to a single tweet from Foreign Affairs Canada, it has become painfully clear technology has forever altered all forms of human communication from everyday conversations to global political positioning.

Theatre and performance arts remains one of the primary public venues to discuss the power and the faults of such technological mediation. Hence, this conference’s primary objective will be engagement with growing linguistic and cultural gaps happening in cultural interactions throughout contemporary performance environments, which are changing rapidly due to accessible emerging technological innovations. Theatre is already using aspects of augmented reality, interactive surtitles, immersive digital content, as well as promotional campaigns in multiple languages mediating messages on stage or in public forums. This conference aims to provide a framework for interpreting new levels of meaning generated by evolving technologies in performance, especially amongst our wider interdisciplinary and cultural communities.

The second focus point of this gathering will be investigating the place of technological, performative and language based mediations between people and the state, specifically in the situations of asylum seekers, refugee claimants, and other forms of personal interactions with authorities. Hospitality can be ambivalent, as Derrida reminds us, specifically when claims for asylum are made in the language of the host thereby mediating protection seekers into vulnerable and precarious positions. Theatre and performance arts is at the forefront of cultural performances interrogating the influence, power, and liabilities of such state-level mediations.

Using a variety of performance theories, communications research, and participatory media, this conference will workshop new critical responses to pressing conversations happening between cultural groups and technology. Participants are invited to examine questions of translation, performance mediation, use of technology, and media influence as manifested historically, conceptually and practically in theatre and cultural performances. Possible topics of inquiry include:

  • philosophical and ethical conceptualizing of performance mediation and use of technology;

  • language, mediation, and performance;

  • technological mediation in governmental laws and political discourses;

  • migration, mediation and urban space: communal living in the past and in the age of mobility;

  • politics of mediation in social media and everyday life;

  • performance technology and education

In addition to these topics and specifically in the context of the Canadian state, the organizing committee will be curating academic panels and performative events dedicated to public and artistic discourses related to the history and current practices of multilingualism in Canada. Through research presentations, performative workshops, and other conference activities, we aim to discuss, analyze, and conceptualize the leading role Canada—its political, economic and cultural practices, as well as media discourses—plays in understanding how communication technology has changed us, both through its historical paradigms and as a defining aspects of today’s global society.

Send your inquiries to

Dr. Peter Kuling (pjk@uottawa.ca)

Dr. Yana Meerzon (ymeerzon@uottawa.ca)

Disclaimer / Avis de non-responsabilité

Colloque 2019

 

 

 

 

Appel à propositions

Ce colloque interdisciplinaire et bilingue réunira un groupe diversifié de chercheurs et d’artistes pour se pencher sur l’influence des avancées dans le domaine des technologies de la communication sur les dialogues interpersonnels, politiques, culturels et performatifs. Alors que Donald Trump utilise les médias sociaux pour traiter d’affaires politiques et internationales, et après avoir été témoins de la réaction diplomatique extrême de l’Arabie Saoudite suite à un seul tweet des Affaires étrangères canadiennes, il est devenu évident que ces nouvelles technologies sont venues altérer de façon irréversible toutes les formes de communication humaine; des conversations quotidiennes au positionnement politique à grande échelle.

Le théâtre et les arts de la performance demeurent parmi les derniers refuges pour débattre du pouvoir et de la menace de ce type de médiation technologique. Ce colloque se penchera en premier lieu sur les fractures linguistiques et culturelles qui surviennent alors que les formes de performances contemporaines évoluent au rythme des innovations technologiques. Certaines représentations théâtrales utilisent déjà des aspects de la réalité augmentée, des surtitres interactifs, du contenu numérique, des environnements immersifs, des campagnes de financement multilingues et diverses formes de médiation sur scène comme dans l’espace public. L’objectif est de fournir un cadre pour interpréter les nouveaux niveaux de signification générés par les technologies intégrées aux performances, en particulier au sein des communautés disciplinaires et culturelles élargies.

Le deuxième intérêt de ce rassemblement est le rôle des médiations technologiques, performatives et linguistiques entre la population et l’État, en particulier dans des situations de demande d’asile, de droits des réfugiés et de toutes autres formes d’interaction avec les autorités. Le principe d’hospitalité est équivoque, comme Derrida nous le rappelle, en particulier lorsque les requêtes doivent être formulées dans la langue de l’hôte. La phase de médiation pouvant placer le demandeur de protection dans une position vulnérable et précaire. Le théâtre et les arts de la scène demeurent l’un des principaux lieux publics de discussion sur les forces et lacunes liées au processus de médiation.

En conjuguant différentes théories de la performance aux recherches sur les communications et sur les nouvelles technologies médiatiques participatives, ce colloque sera l’occasion de présenter de nouvelles réponses critiques à ces problématiques urgentes. Les participants sont invités à se prononcer sur des questions de traduction, de médiation de l’expérience en contexte de performance, d’intégration des technologies et d’influence des médias sur l’évolution historique, conceptuelle et pratiques du théâtre et des arts performatifs. Les sujets possibles incluent :

• conceptualisation philosophique et éthique de la médiation de la performance et de l’utilisation de la technologie;

• langue, médiation et performance;

• médiation technologique dans les lois gouvernementales et les discours politiques;

• migration, médiation et espace urbain: vie communautaire passée et à l’ère de la mobilité;

• politique de médiation dans les médias sociaux et la vie quotidienne;

• technologie de performance et éducation

À l’aide de présentations scientifiques, de tables rondes, de performances, d’ateliers pratiques et d’autres activités de recherche s’intéressant aux discours publics et artistiques liés à l’histoire et aux pratiques actuelles du multilinguisme au Canada, nous visons à présenter, analyser et conceptualiser le rôle de premier plan que jouent les pratiques politiques, économiques et culturelles du Canada d’un point de vue historique et en tant que caractéristiques fondamentales de la société mondiale actuelle.

Nous sollicitons donc des propositions de table ronde (90 min), de communication individuelle (20 min) et d’intervention de performance (40 min). La date limite pour postuler est

le 15 décembre 2018.

Veuillez envoyer vos questions et propositions au Peter Kuling (pjk@uottawa.ca) et au Yana Meerzon (ymeerzon@uottawa.ca)